Hays Elected Fellow of American College of Psychiatry

The American College of Psychiatry elected Dr. Lon Hays, director of the University of Kentucky Department of Psychiatry, as a fellow of the national organization.

Hays, who was elected as a member in 2002, will be inducted at the group's annual meeting in February.

"It's an honor to be elected as a fellow of the American College of Psychiatrists," Hays said. "This is an amazing group of individuals, and I look forward to continuing to work with them and to learn from them."

Founded on May 8, 1963, in St. Louis, the American College of Psychiatrists is a not-for-profit honorary association dedicated to providing continuing education to its members, promoting the latest advances in the specialty, and supporting the highest standards in psychiatry.

Membership in The College is limited to 750 practicing psychiatrists who have demonstrated outstanding competence and national recognition in the field of psychiatry. For more information, visit The College Web site at www.ACPsych.org.

The UK Department of Psychiatry is the only academic psychiatry department in the country to have twice been awarded the American College of Psychiatry's Creativity in Education Award.